Anniversary 6

I am forgetting you.

Six years and I can’t remember your voice.

Only bits of you are left in my memory.

Your smile. I don’t think I’ll ever forget your smile.

I don’t remember how you used to talk or what you sounded like. I don’t remember your smell or the light of your eyes. I don’t remember what we fought about or the jokes we laughed at. I don’t remember those watermelon, sunshine afternoons or the way you used to jump from the shore. I don’t remember the way you swam or the way you’d dry under the sun. I don’t remember those dirty lakes or the pure springs.

I don’t remember how you still hurt. And I don’t remember that you’re gone.

I am forgetting you so much that I did not write to you for two years.

But at the same time, I’m remembering you. Parts of you. The way you held me when I was brokenhearted over some jerk. The way your smile made me feel appreciated. The way our friendshi was – pure, childish and full of love. Whenever I think about my childhood and my favorite summers, you are always there. You are the reason I think so fondly about those times. And you are the reason that everytime that nostalgy hits, I go numb. and I wish. Oh, how I wish, you were here.

I still miss you, when I’m not forgetting.

But I am forgetting. And I’m scared and afraid that one day, I’ll wake up and I won’t remember you, the reason that my heart feels so heavy sometimes.

… and I live my life. I try to. For the sake of both of us. They say, people don’t die as long as we remember them. And I’m afraid you are dying again, cause I’m forgetting you slowly. Please. Don’t let me forget you. Don’t let me wake up one day and not feel the pain you left behind. Don’t let me wake up one day and feel as if nothing’s missing. I want to remember you.

Please.

Don’t let me forget you.

გვითხარი